Nommo Awards

The winners of the African Speculative Society’s Nommo Awards 2019 were announced at the opening ceremony of the Ake Festival 2019 in Lagos, Nigeria on October 24, 2019.

The Nommo Awards were introduced to celebrate speculative fiction, categorised in other markets as magical realism, Sci-Fi, horror, and graphic novel, in 2016. Previous winners have been Tade Thompson, Nnedi Okorafor, Tendai Huchu and Lesley Nneka Arimah in 2017; and Tade Thompson, Kwabena Ofei, Setor Fiadzigbey, Wole Talabi, and Tochi Onyebuchi in 2018.

The road to 2019 kicked off with the announcement of the longlist for the now coveted award scheme on May 2. The longlistees were in the categories of “Novel” (The Ilube Nommo Award for Best Speculative Fiction Novel by an African), “Novella,” “Short Story,” and “Graphic Novel.” The shortlist was announced on May 14, 2019, and the 170 members of the African Speculative Society were given three months to vote for the best entries for 2019.

The winners of the Nommo Awards were revealed at the opening ceremony of the Ake Festival 2019. The winners, presented by Mohale Mashigo and Wole Talabi are;

  • The Ilube Nommo Awards for Best Speculative Novel: Freshwater by Akwaeke Emezi.
  • The Nommo Award for Best Speculative Novella: The Firebird by Nerine Dorman
  • The Nommo Award for Best Speculative Short Story: The Witching Hour by Ekpeki Oghenechovwe Donald.
  • The Nommo Award for Best Comic/Graphic Novel – Shuri by Nnedi Okorafor, Leonardo Romero.

The winners of the Ilube Nommo Award and the Comic/Graphic Novel award receive US$ 1000.00 while the novella and short story award winners get US$ 500.00.