Previous winner Zakes Mda.
Previous winner Zakes Mda.

So on Sunday we were all excited at the introduction of the newest literary star but its not been all good news on front as the MNET literary awards are no more. The awards started in 1991 as The M-Net Book Prize and went on to become one of South Africa’s most prestigious literary honours. The prize which was awarded to indigenous African languages like Nguni, Sesotho, Tshivenda etc.

Some of the more famous winners of these awards included Zakes Mda for Ways of Dying in 1997, Cynthia Jele for Happiness is a Four-letter Word in 2011 and a life achievement award for the late Prof Mazisi Kunene in 2005.

The pay TV company cited that the reason they were moving away from literature was because they were re-evaluating its corporate projects.

In other news, Big Brother Africa the scintillating reality show where viewers watch a bunch of folks sit in a house bored out of their wits for three months is still on.

I am sad about this as you can see —> :'(

>> Related

:: Full list of winners over the years