Nnedi Okorafor, Tade Thompson are Hugo and Astounding Awards 2020 Finalists.

Nnedi Okorafor and Tade Thompson are finalists for the Hugo and Astounding Awards 2020 announced on Tuesday, April 7, 2020.

The Hugo and Astounding Awards, organized by the World Science Fiction Society, are awarded for the best science fiction or fantasy works and achievements of the previous year. Named after the founder of science fiction magazine Amazing Stories Hugo Gernsback, they are handed out at the annual World Science Fiction Convention. Previous winners include Isaac Asimov, Larry Niven, Arthur C. Clarke, and J. K. Rowling.

The finalists for 2020 were announced on April 7 by the Locus Magazine in the categories of Best Novel, Best Novella, Best Novelette, Best Short Story, Best Series, Best Related Work, Best Graphic Story or Comic, Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form, Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form, Best Editor, Short Form, Best Editor, Long Form, Best Professional Artist, Best Semiprozine, Best Fanzine, Best Fancast, Best Fan Writer, Best Fan Artist, Lodestar for Best Young Adult Book (Not a Hugo), and Astounding Award for Best New Writer (Not a Hugo).

In these categories, there were two nominations of interest for those who follow writing from Africans and their diaspora. Nnedi Okorafor, who won in 2016 and made the finalists list in 2018 and 2019, was shortlisted for Best Graphic Story or Comic for LaGuardia while Tade Thompson’s The Wormwood Trilogy made it in the Best Series category.  Below are the writers in their categories;

Best Graphic Story or Comic

  • Die, Volume 1: Fantasy Heartbreaker, Kieron Gillen, illustrated by Stephanie Hans (Image).
  • The Wicked + The Divine, Volume 9: Okay, Kieron Gillen, illustrated by Jamie McKelvie & Matt Wilson (Image Comics).
  • Monstress, Volume 4: The Chosen, Marjorie Liu, illustrated by Sana Takeda (Image).
  • LaGuardia, Nnedi Okorafor, illustrated by Tana Ford, colours by James Devlin (Berger Books/Dark Horse).
  • Paper Girls, Volume 6, Brian K. Vaughan, illustrated by Cliff Chiang & Matt Wilson (Image) Mooncakes, Wendy Xu & Suzanne Walker (Oni Press; Lion Forge)

Best Series

  • Winternight, Katherine Arden (Del Rey; Del Rey UK).
  • The Expanse, James S.A. Corey (Orbit US; Orbit UK)
  • Luna, Ian McDonald (Tor; Gollancz).
  • InCryptid, Seanan McGuire (DAW).
  • Planetfall, Emma Newman (Ace; Gollancz).
  • The Wormwood Trilogy, Tade Thompson (Orbit US; Orbit UK)

The winners of the awards will be announced in due course.