Niq Mhlongo

Niq Mhlongo is one of the artists in the DAAD Berlin Artists-in-Resident program 2020 announced on September 6, 2019.

The DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program awards internationally highly regarded fellowships. Since 1963, over 1000 outstanding international visual artists, authors, filmmakers, composers, and sound artists have been invited to live and work in Berlin. As part of its long-term support of artists, works by current and former guests are presented at the daadgalerie in Kreuzberg as well as at partner institutions in Berlin, around Germany and also abroad. Some of the previous residents to this program have been Petina Gappah, Helon Habila, Binyavanga Wainaina, and many more.

The program announced its residents for the 2020 cycle of the

  • André Alexis (Canada).
  • Angélica Freitas (Brazil).
  • Jacek Dehnel (Poland).
  • Niq Mhlongo (South-Africa).
  • Marko Pogačar (Croatia)
  • Fariba Vafi (Iran).

Niq Mhlongo is the author of the novels Dog Eat Dog (2004), After Tears (2007), Way Back Home (our review) (2015). He has also written the short story collections Affluenza (2016) and Soweto Under The Apricot Tree (2018). He recently edited the Jonathan Ball published essay collection Black Tax: Burden or Ubuntu?