Nii Ayikwei Parkes, Mohale Mashigo to judge Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2020.

Nii Ayikwei Parkes and Mohale Mashigo are on the judging panel of the Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2020 announced today, September 3, 2019.

The Commonwealth Short Story Prize is awarded for the best piece of unpublished short fiction in English in the regions of Africa, Asia, Canada and Europe, the Caribbean, and the Pacific. Each of these winners are then eligible for the global prize. Regional winners receive £2,500 and the overall winner receives £5,000.

Previous winners of the Commonwealth Short Story Prize in the Africa region have been Jekwu Anyaegbuna (2012), Julian Jackson (2013), Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi (2014), Lesley Nneka Arimah (2015), Faraaz Mahomed (2016), Akwaeke Emezi (2017), Efua Traoré (2018), and Mbozi Haimbe (2019). Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi won the global prize in 2014.

The prize made a callout for short stories for the 2020 edition of the prize on September 1, 2019. They have today revealed those who will be judging the stories that will be submitted starting with the chair of judges’ novelist, poet, and publisher Nii Ayikwei Parkes.

Also on the panel with their designated regions are Mohale Mashigo (Africa), William Phuan (Asia) Heather O’Neill (Canada and Europe), Elizabeth Walcott-Hackshaw (the Caribbean) and Nic Low (the Pacific).

Update: The callout has been closed.