Awards Drama Nigeria

Nigeria Prize for Literature 2018 longlist announced.

The Nigeria Prize for Literature 2018 longlist was announced on July 26, 2018. Those in the running for the prize this year are Chidubem Iweka, Denja Abdullahi, Soji Cole, Obari Gomba, Peter E. Omoko, Dul Johnson, Bosede Ademilua-Afolayan, Jude Idada, Akanji Nasiru, and Dickson Ekhaguere.

The Nigeria Prize for Literature is the richest prize in African literature worth US$100,000 to the winner. The prize which was founded in 2004 to honour literary erudition by Nigerian authors rotates among four genres fiction, poetry, drama and children’s literature, repeating the cycle every four years. The winners over the last few years have been Ikeogu Oke for poetry (2017), Abubakar Adam Ibrahim for prose (2016), Sam Ukala for drama (2014), Tade Ipadeola for poetry (2013), and Chika Unigwe for prose (2012).

This year the callout was made for drama and literary criticism and the judges for the prize would be Prof Matthew Umukoro who would chair assisted by Prof Mohammed Inuwa Buratai and Dr Mrs Ngozi Udengwu. The advisory board for the prize are Prof Emeritus Ayo Banjo the chair assisted by Prof Jerry Agada and Prof Emeritus Ben Elugbe.

The judges have announced those in the running for this year’s edition and they are;

  1. August Inmates by Chidubem Iweka; published by Kraft Books.
  2. Death and The King’s Grey Hair by Denja Abdullahi; published by Kraft Books.
  3. Embers by Soji Cole; published by Emotion Press.
  4. Guerrilla Post by Obari Gomba; published by Narrative Landscape Press.
  5. Majestic Revolt by Peter E. Omoko; published by Malthouse Press.
  6. Melancholia by Dul Johnson; published by Sevhage Publishers.
  7. No More the Taming Hawks by Diran Ademiju-Bepo; published by Dynasty Tales.
  8. Once Upon an Elephant by Bosede Ademilua-Afolayan by Kraft Books.
  9. Sankara by Jude Idada; published by Parresia Publishing
  10. The Rally by Akanji Nasiru; published by Kraft Books
  11. Unstable by Dickson Ekhaguere; published by Tryspect Solutions

A shortlist of three is expected in September and a possible winner will be announced by the Advisory Board in October.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.