Awards Fiction Nigeria Trinidad and Tobago United States

Nebula Awards 2023 finalists announced.

The finalists for the Nebula Awards 2023 were announced on Tuesday, March 7, 2023. Here are the writers of African descent among them.

The Nebula Awards, recognising the best works of science fiction or fantasy published in the United States, were first held in 1966. They are organized and awarded by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, a non-profit association of professional science fiction and fantasy writers annually. Some winners of the awards in the past have been Isaac Asimov, Arthur C. Clarke, Octavia E. Butler, Nnedi Okorafor, Tomi Adeyemi, and P. Djèlí Clark. P. Djèlí Clark and Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki won in 2022.

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers Association announced the finalists for the 58th Annual Nebula Awards in a variety of categories on Tuesday. Here are the writers of African descent in the running;


  • Bishop’s Opening, R.S.A. Garcia (Clarkesworld 1/22)
  • Even Though I Knew the End, C.L. Polk (Tordotcom Publishing)


  • A Dream of Electric Mothers, Wole Talabi (Africa Risen: A New Era of Speculative Fiction)

Short Story

  • Destiny Delayed, Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki (Asimov’s 5–6/22)

Andre Norton Nebula Award for Middle Grade and Young Adult Fiction

  • Ruby Finley vs. the Interstellar Invasion, K. Tempest Bradford (Farrar, Straus & Giroux)

R.S.A. Garcia said, “So happy to be sharing this honour with many talented, lovely friends & colleagues.”

Wole Talabi said, “I’m at a work event all day but jumping in to say I’m honored my story “A Dream Of Electric Mothers” is a finalist for the Nebula award. Thank you everyone who read, reviewed, voted for this story.”

Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki said, “I’m a finalist for the Nebula award, with my @Asimovs_SF short story, Destiny Delayed. 🥰🥳”

K. Tempest Bradford simply tweeted, “WELP! 😁🤩”

The winners will be unveiled at the Nebula Conference which happens in Anaheim, USA from May 12–14, 2023.

By James Murua

This blog is run by James Murua a Nairobi, Kenya based lover of books.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.