Awards Fiction Nonfiction United States

National Book Critics Circle Awards 2022 finalists announced.

The finalists for the National Book Critics Circle Awards 2022 were announced on January 31, 2023. Here are the writers of African descent on the lists.

The National Book Critics Circle (NBCC) bestows its awards in six categories, honoring the best books published in the past year in the United States since 1974. The finalists are nominated, evaluated, and selected by the 24-member board of directors, which consists of critics and editors from some of the country’s leading print and online publications, as well as critics whose works appear in these publications.

The National Book Critics Circle announced its finalists in six categories—autobiography, biography, criticism, fiction, general nonfiction, and poetry—for the best books of 2022.

“We’re an all-volunteer organization with a mission that’s simple and sweet: honor outstanding writing and foster a national conversation about reading, criticism, and literature,” said NBCC President Megan Labrise.

The Writers of African descent who made the cut are;


  • Darryl Pinckney, Come Back in September: A Literary Education on West Sixty-Seventh Street, Manhattan (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)


  • Kerri K. Greenidge, The Grimkes: The Legacy of Slavery in an American Family (Liveright)


  • Margo Jefferson, Constructing a Nervous System: A Memoir (Pantheon)


  • Percival Everett, Dr. No (Graywolf)
  • Namwali Serpell, The Furrows (Hogarth)


  • Kelly Lytle Hernández, Bad Mexicans: Race, Empire, and Revolution in the Borderlands (Norton)

Gregg Barrios Book In Translation Prize

  • Mark Polizzotti’s translation of Kibogo by Scholastique Mukasonga (Archipelago)

The awards for publishing year 2022 will be presented in New York City, USA on March 23, 2023.

By James Murua

This blog is run by James Murua a Nairobi, Kenya based lover of books.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.