Awards Fiction Mauritius Senegal

Nathacha Appanah, Mohamed Mbougar Sarr on Prix Fémina 2021 second selection.

Nathacha Appanah  and Mohamed Mbougar Sarr were revealed to on the second selection for Prix Fémina 2021 on September 29, 2021.

The Prix Femina is a French literary prize created by 22 writers for the magazine La Vie heureuse (today known as Femina) in 1904. It is decided each year by an exclusively female jury. They reward French-language works written in prose or verse, by both women and men. The winner is announced on the first Wednesday of November each year. Some of the previous winners of the award have been Léonora Miano, Marie Ndiaye among others. Abubakar Adam Ibrahim and Meryem Alaoui made the longlist in 2018.

The Fémina jury for 2021 is chaired by Josyane Savigneau alongside Nathalie Azoulai, Evelyne Bloch-Dano, Claire Gallois, Anne-Marie Garat, Paula Jacques, Christine Jordis, Diane de Margerie, Scholastique Mukasonga, Mona Ozouf, Patricia Reznikov, and Danièle Sallenave.

The first selections for the awards were made in the two broad categories of French, those published in France, and Foreign which are books published in other jurisdictions and translated into French. The  announcement for the first selection, made on September 8, featured three Writers of African descent.

The writers of African descent who made the second selection and their books are;


  • Rien ne t’appartient, by Nathacha Appanah (Gallimard)
  • La plus secrète mémoire des hommes, by Mohamed Mbougar Sarr (Philippe Rey)

The next selections will take place on October 13 before the winners are announced on October 25 at the Carnavalet Museum, Paris, France.

By James Murua

This blog is run by James Murua a Nairobi, Kenya based lover of books.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.