Namwali Serpell

Namwali Serpell is on the shortlist for The Sunday Times Audible Short Story Award 2020 announced on June 7, 2020.

The Sunday Times Audible Short Story Award is the world’s richest prize for a single short story, with £30,000 going to the winner. Co-founded in 2010 by Lord Matthew Evans of EFG Private Bank and The Sunday Times’s Cathy Galvin, the award is now sponsored in its 10th year by Audible, the spoken word publisher. Winners and shortlistees of the prize have included some of the world’s great writers, like Pulitzer Prize-winners Junot Díaz, Emma Donoghue, Mark Haddon, Sarah Hall, Bret Anthony Johnston, Yiyun Li, Hilary Mantel, and Ali Smith. Rotimi Babatunde was on the longlist in 2015 while Petina Gappah made the shortlist in 2016.

The judges for this year’s awards are Andrew Holgate, Carys Davies, David Nicholls, Diana Evans, and Romesh Gunesekera. This team announced the longlist for the awards on May 3 before the shortlist was revealed on Sunday. This shortlist has the following writers;

  • Alexia Tolas, Granma’s Porch.
  • Niamh Campbell, Love Many.
  • Daniel O’Malley,
  • Louise Kennedy, Sparing the Heather.
  • Namwali Serpell, Take It.
  • Shawn Vestal,

The winner of the award will be announced on July 2, 2020.