Awards Fiction Speculative Fiction United States

N.K. Jemisin, P. Djèlí Clark win at Locus Awards 2021.

N.K. Jemisin, and P. Djèlí Clark were among the winners of the Locus Awards 2021 announced on June 26, 2021.

The Locus Awards are literary awards handed out annually by United States-based Locus Magazine. Locus: The Magazine of Science Fiction & Fantasy is the news organ and trade journal for the English language science fiction and fantasy fields. It also publishes comprehensive listings of all new books published in these genres. Previous winners include Nisi Shawl, K. Tempest Bradford, and Marlon James.

The shortlist for this year’s edition were announced in May with many several writers of African descent in the running. The winners were announced this weekend with the two of them winning in their category. They were;

Fantasy novel

  • The City We Became, N.K. Jemisin (Orbit US & UK)


  • Ring Shout, P. Djèlí Clark (Tordotcom)

By James Murua

This blog is run by James Murua a Nairobi, Kenya based lover of books.

One reply on “N.K. Jemisin, P. Djèlí Clark win at Locus Awards 2021.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.