Awards Fiction

Morland Writing Scholarships 2022 shortlist announced.

The shortlist for the Morland Writing Scholarships 2022 was announced today, Tuesday, October 18, 2022.

The Morland Writing Scholarships for African Writers, popularly referred to as the Morland Writing Scholarship, is an opportunity to allow writers to finish a manuscript. Scholars writing fiction receive a grant of £18,000, paid monthly over twelve months while those writing non-fiction may receive a grant of up to £27,000, paid over a period of up to eighteen months. In the past, the scholarship has been accorded to writers like Yewande Omotoso, Noo Saro-Wiwa, Ayesha Harruna Attah, Gloria Mwaniga Odari, Hawa Jande Golakai, Nnamdi Oguike, and Parsalelo ole Kantai.

This year the award is judged by Muthoni Garland who is the chair, assisted by Bibi Bakare-Yusuf and Chuma Nwokolo. From the over 500 applications from across the continent, the panel announced those still in the running for the prize and they are;

  • Aba Asibon (Ghana)
  • Tarfa Benson
  • Joshua Chizoma (Nigeria)
  • Eguono Edafioka (Nigeria)
  • Ibrahim Ibrahim (Nigeria)
  • Hymar Idibie (Nigeria)
  • Amanda Ilozumba (Nigeria)
  • Mubanga Kalimamukwento (Zambia)
  • Muhammad L. Kejera (Gambia)
  • Kiprop Kimutai (Kenya)
  • Neema Komba (Tanzania)
  • Wesley Macheso (Malawi)
  • Keletso Mopai (South Africa)
  • Chido Muchemwa (Zimbabwe)
  • Wairimũ Mũrĩithi (Kenya)
  • Mphuthumi Ntabeni (South Africa)
  • Chika Oduah (Nigeria)
  • Lanre Otaiku (Nigeria)
  • Obinna Udenwe (Nigeria)

The shortlisted submissions are then sent to the judges who meet on Nov 23rd in London to decide who this year’s Morland Writing Scholars will be with the announcement being made on Nov 24th.

By James Murua

This blog is run by James Murua a Nairobi, Kenya based lover of books.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.