Morland Writing Scholarships 2021 shortlist

The shortlist for the Morland Writing Scholarships 2021 was announced today, October 11, 2021.

The Morland Writing Scholarships for African Writers, popularly referred to as the Morland Writing Scholarship, is an opportunity to allow writers to finish a manuscript. Scholars writing fiction receive a grant of £18,000, paid monthly over twelve months while those writing non-fiction may receive a grant of up to £27,000, paid over a period of up to eighteen months. In the past, the scholarship has been accorded to writers like Yewande Omotoso, Noo Saro-Wiwa, Ayesha Harruna Attah, Gloria Mwaniga Odari, Hawa Jande Golakai, Nnamdi Oguike, and Parsalelo ole Kantai.

This year the award is judged by Muthoni Garland who is the chair, assisted by Bibi Bakare-Yusuf and Chuma Nwokolo. From the 572 applications from across the continent, the panel announced those still in the running for the prize and they are;

  • Ope Adedeji (Nigeria)
  • Caleb Ajinomoh (Nigeria)
  • Olakitan Aladesuyi (Nigeria)
  • Ivana Amy Akotowaa Ofori (Ghana)
  • Alithnayn Abdulkareem (Nigeria)
  • Harriet Anena (Uganda)
  • Asiya Gaildon (Somalia)
  • Alice Gichuru (Kenya)
  • Tamantha Hammerschlag (South Africa)
  • Ilze Hugo (South Africa)
  • Abubakar Ibrahim (Nigeria)
  • Anietie Isong (Nigeria)
  • Mubanga Kalimamukwento (Zambia)
  • Bwanga Kapumpa (Zambia)
  • Refilwe Mathapelo Mofokeng (South Africa)
  • Gothataone Moeng (Botswana)
  • Helen Moffett (South Africa)
  • Tinashe Mushakavanhu (Botswana)
  • Rémy Ngamije (Namibia)
  • Sukoluhle Nyathi (Zimbabawe)
  • Edwin Okolo (Nigeria)
  • Lekan Olanrewaju (Nigeria)
  • Ife Olatona (Nigeria)

Miles Morland, the philanthropist who the prize is named after, commented, “Our sole objective is to see world-class books written by African writers. Every one of our short list is capable of great work. The judges will find it hard to select the four Scholars. This year Nigeria has excelled itself with nine entries on the short list of 23 followed by South Africa with four. The short list was fifteen women and eight men. We were delighted to have had entries from over twenty-five countries. This year’s Nobel Prize for literature went to a great African writer. African writing is claiming its place on the world stage.”

The judging panel will meet on 23rd November to select the 2021 Scholars.