The shortlist for the Morland Writing Scholarships 2020 was announced today, October 19, 2020.

The Morland Writing Scholarships for African Writers, popularly referred to as the Morland Writing Scholarship, is an opportunity to allow writers to finish a manuscript. Scholars writing fiction receive a grant of £18,000, paid monthly over twelve months while those writing non-fiction texts may receive a grant of up to £27,000, paid over a period of up to eighteen months. In the past, the scholarship has been accorded to writers like Yewande Omotoso, Noo Saro-Wiwa, Ayesha Harruna Attah, Gloria Mwaniga Odari, Hawa Jande Golakai, Nnamdi Oguike, and Parsalelo ole Kantai.

The 2020 edition of the award is judged by Muthoni Garland who is the chair, assisted by Bibi Bakare-Yusuf and Chuma Nwokolo. From the 992 entries received, this panel announced those still in the running for the prize and they are;

  • Gothataone Moeng, Botswana
  • Howard Meh-Buh, Cameroon
  • Aba Asibon, Ghana
  • Kobina Ankomah-Graham, Ghana
  • Wairimu Muriithi, Kenya
  • Ivy Nyayieka, Kenya
  • Okwiri Oduor, Kenya
  • Sarah Uheida, Libya
  • Wesley Macheso, Malawi
  • Chukwuebuka Ibeh, Nigeria
  • Pearl Osibu, Nigeria
  • Temitope Owolabi, Nigeria
  • Rémy Ngamije, Rwanda
  • Lynsey Chutel, South Africa
  • Fred Khumalo, South Africa
  • Megan Ross, South Africa
  • Reem Gaafar, Sudan
  • Ernest Bazanye, Uganda
  • Bwanga Kapumpa, Zambia

Miles Morland, the philanthropist who the prize is named after, commented, “Trying to select four Scholars out of 992 entries, all of whom are published writers, is a nightmare. Anyone who gets on the shortlist can be proud of their achievement. Once again the entries showed that uniquely African combination of energy and originality. It is so pleasing to see so many different countries represented in the overall entries and in the short list.”

The judging panel will meet on November 23 to select the 2020 Scholars.