Yvonne Adhiambo Owuor
Yvonne Adhiambo Owuor

The Folio Prize is the first major English language book prize open to writers from around the world published in the UK.
The prize is shaped by The Folio Prize Academy, an international group of people, mainly writers and critics, immersed in the world of books and play a decisive role in selecting titles to be considered for the shortlist, and each year the judges will be drawn from its number. This academy includes some familiar names like Helon Habila, Teju Cole, Aminatta Forna, Petina Gappah, Noviolet Bulawayo and Helen Oyeyemi.
The longlist for the Folio Prize 2015 has just been announced by the academy and there are a couple of novels on it that readers of this blog will be familiar with; Mengestu Dinaw and Yvonne Adhiambo Owuor. They are in the running for their books All Our Names and Dust respectfully.
The two are in the running for the sixty five year old prize with the short list of eight titles being announced on 9 February 2015. This will be followed by the winner of The Folio Prize being announced on Monday 23 March at a ceremony at the St Pancras Renaissance Hotel in central London. That’s London, UK not London, Eastlands. Apart from champagne and acclaim they will also be presented with a cheque for £40,000.

Update: South African author Damon Galgut is also on the list for his novel Arctic Summer.