Mariette Tchamda Mbunpi, Annette Michael for James Murua Literary LiveStream

Mariette Tchamda Mbunpi and Annette Michael are the guests at the James Murua Literary LiveStream on Wednesday, November 25, 2020, at 18:00 GMT/ 19:00 WAT/ 20:00 CAT/ 21:00 EAT. You can join the stream, brought to you in cooperation with Frankfurter Buchmesse with financial support from the German Federal Foreign Office, on Facebook, YouTube, or Twitter.

This month, we introduced the James Murua Literary LiveStream to shine a light on the African literary ecosystem and ways to make it better. Previous guests to the stream have been Abubakar Adam Ibrahim, Maaza Mengiste and Antje Rávik Strubel, and Ondjaki and Philipp Khabo Koepsell. The latter events were brought to you in cooperation with Frankfurter Buchmesse with financial support from the German Federal Foreign Office.

This week we feature Mariette Tchamda Mbunpi and Annette Michael. Here is information about the two;

Mariette Tchamda Mbunpi

Mariette Tchamda Mbunpi
Mariette Tchamda Mbunpi

Mariette TCHAMDA is a Cameroonian publisher. A former independent translator and French teacher, she studied English and French Language and literature in Yaoundé University.

Her journey in publishing started 2 years ago when she created Nuances, a publishing house that only publishes books written by women, with women as leading characters. Her objective with this project is to drive more Cameroonian (and African) women to literature and to desacralize literature in a country where reading and writing are considered too elitist.

In August 2020, she released the first and only book of Nuances: “Être femme est un métier à plein temps” by Koutoukoute.

Annette Michael

Annette Michael
Annette Michael

Annette Michael studied literature, Italian, and journalism in Berlin and Milan, Italy. She is the publisher and managing director of Orlanda Verlag in Berlin. Prior to this, she worked for several years in the field of communication for institutions, publishers, and agencies and is involved in voluntary work in the field of education and refugee work.

Orlanda is a publishing house – founded in 2017. With its program, Orlanda focuses on the topics of feminism, world culture, and migration and aims to provide a platform for the discourse for a more positive and fair development of the world – regardless of ethnicities, gender, and skin color. For many years Orlanda has been publishing books of female Black German writers. In 2019 the publishing house started a series of African Literature.

The two will join me on the LiveStream at 18:00 GMT/ 19:00 WAT/ 20:00 CAT/ 21:00 EAT. If you want to interact with them, you can join the stream on Facebook, YouTube, or Twitter.

One Reply to “Mariette Tchamda Mbunpi, Annette Michael for James Murua Literary LiveStream”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.