Awards Poetry United Kingdom

Malika Booker wins at Forward Prizes for Poetry 2020.

Malika Booker won in the single poem category the Forward Prizes for Poetry 2020 announced on October 25, 2020.

The Forward Prizes for Poetry are major British awards for poetry, presented annually at a public ceremony in London. They were founded by William Sieghart with the aim of celebrating excellence in poetry and increasing its audience in 1992. The prizes are given in the categories of The Forward Prize for Best Collection, The Felix Dennis Prize for Best First Collection and The Forward Prize for Best Single Poem in memory of Michael Donaghy. Previous winners include Kei Miller, Danez Smith, and Claudia Rankine.

For 2020, the judging panel was chaired by writer, critic, and social historian Alexandra Harris alongside poets Kim Moore, Roger Robinson and David Wheatley, and journalist Leaf Arbuthnot. This panel revealed the shortlist for 2020 on June 10

The winners in the different categories were announced on Sunday and Malika Booker won in the single poem category for her entry The Little Miracles (Magma). Booker is the founder of the writer’s collective ‘Malika’s Kitchen’. Her first collection, Pepper Seed, was shortlisted for the Seamus Heaney Centre Prize; she is a Creative Writing Teaching Fellow at the University of Leeds.

Photo Credits: Malika Booker by Adrian Pope.

By James Murua

This blog is run by James Murua a Nairobi, Kenya based lover of books.

One reply on “Malika Booker wins at Forward Prizes for Poetry 2020.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.