Maaza Mengiste, Antje Rávik Strubel for James Murua Literary LiveStream

Maaza Mengiste and Antje Rávik Strubel are the guests at the James Murua Literary LiveStream on Thursday, November 12, 2020 at 18:00 GMT/ 19:00 WAT/ 20:00 CAT/ 21:00 EAT. You can join the stream, brought to you in cooperation with Frankfurter Buchmesse with financial support from the German Federal Foreign Office, on Facebook, YouTube, or Twitter.

Last week, we introduced the James Murua Literary LiveStream to shine a light on the African literary ecosystem and ways to make it better with the first guest being Abubakar Adam Ibrahim. Our second guests or rather guests are Maaza Mengiste and Antje Rávik Strubel. They are brought to us in cooperation with Frankfurter Buchmesse and with financial support from the German Federal Foreign Office. Here is more information about the writers;

Maaza Mengiste

Maaza Mengiste. Photo/Nina Subin
Maaza Mengiste. Photo/Nina Subin

Maaza Mengiste is a novelist and essayist. She is the author of the novels, Beneath the Lion’s Gaze, selected by the Guardian as one of the 10 best contemporary African books; and The Shadow King, one of New York Times’ Notable Books of 2019 and TIME’s 100 Must-Read Books of 2019. Her work can be found in The New Yorker, New York Review of Books, Granta, the Guardian, the New York Times, Rolling Stone, and BBC, among other places. The Shadow King has been shortlisted for the Booker Prize 2020.

Antje Rávik Strubel

Antje Rávik Strubel
Antje Rávik Strubel. Photo/Zaia Alexander

Antje Rávik Strubel published the novels Offene Blende (2001), Unter Schnee (2001), Fremd Gehen. Ein Nachtstück (2002), Tupolew 134 (2004), Vom Dorf. Adventure Stories for the Festival (2007). Her work has been honored with numerous prizes, her novel Kältere Schichten der Luft (2007) was nominated for the Prize of the Leipzig Book Fair and was awarded the Rheingau Literature Prize and the Hermann Hesse Prize, the novel Sturz der Tage in die Nacht (2011) was on the long list of the German Book Prize. Antje Rávik Strubel was invited to the Lion-Feuchtwanger-Villa in Los Angeles with a scholarship and was the first writer in residence in 2012 at the Helsinki Collegium for Advanced Studies. In 2019 she received the Prize of the Literature Houses. Most recently, the episode novel In den Wäldern des menschlichen Herzens was published in 2016.

The two will join me on the LiveStream on November 12 at 18:00 GMT/ 19:00 WAT/ 20:00 CAT/ 21:00 EAT. If you want to interact with them, you can join the stream on Facebook, YouTube, or Twitter.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.