Awards Childrens literature Fiction United Kingdom

Longlists for UK’s Jericho Prize 2021 announced in London.

The longlists for the Jericho Prize 2021 were announced in London, UK on November 12, 2021.

The Jericho Prize, open to unpublished Black British writers, is a new award for writing for children aged four years plus (picture books) and seven to nine (short chapter books). Each submission must include a Black or mixed-Black main character.

The longlisted writers for 2021 on the Picture Book category are;

  • Mayo Agard-Olubo
  • Maritsa Baksh
  • Cabbi Charles
  • Nadine Cowan
  • Paula David
  • Diane Ewen
  • S Elaine Ewen
  • Abena Eyeson
  • Seymour Lavine
  • Ben Peters
  • Dea-Chantal Prempeh
  • Paula Sampson
  • Bonnie Samuyiwa
  • Chi Ukata

The names of the shortlisted writers in both categories, including short chapter books category, will be announced on December 10, 2021. The winner in each category will receive £500, an editorial consultancy and a design consultancy.

By James Murua

This blog is run by James Murua a Nairobi, Kenya based lover of books.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.