Leye Adenle is on the shortlist for CrimeFest’s eDunnit Award 2019 for his book When Trouble Sleeps.

CRIMEFEST is a convention for people who like to read an occasional crime novel as well as for die-hard fanatics. Drawing top crime novelists, readers, editors, publishers and reviewers from around the world, it gives all delegates the opportunity to celebrate the genre in a friendly, informal and inclusive atmosphere.

As part of festivities of the Crime Fiction lovers’ convention, there are awards that are handed out to those who produce in the beloved genre. They include Audible Sounds of Crime Award, The eDunnit Award, The Last Laugh Award, The H.R.F. Keating Award, Best Crime Novel For Children (ages 8-12), Best Crime Novel for Young Adults (Ages 12–16), and The Petrona Award.

This year there is an African interest in one of the awards with Leye Adenle in the running in the eDunnit Award for his sophomore offering When Trouble Sleeps. The eDunnit Award is for the best crime fiction ebook first published in both hard copy and in electronic format in the British Isles in 2018. The winner receives a Bristol Blue Glass commemorative award. The full list of those in the running in this award are;

– Leye Adenle for When Trouble Sleeps (Cassava Republic Press)
– Steve Cavanagh for Thirteen (Orion Fiction)
– Martin Edwards for Gallows Court (Head of Zeus)
– Laura Lippman for Sunburn (Faber and Faber)
– Khurrum Rahman for Homegrown Hero (HQ – HarperCollins)
– Andrew Taylor for The Fire Court (HarperCollins)
– Sarah Ward for The Shrouded Path (Faber and Faber)

The winners of the CRIMEFEST awards will be presented with their awards at a ceremony on Saturday, 11 May.

Update: The eDunnit Awards was won by Laura Lippman for Sunburn (Faber and Faber).