Rufaro Samanga

The Koffi Addo Writivism Prize for Creative Non Fiction 2017 longlist has been announced.

Koffi Addo Writivism Prize for Creative Non Fiction was born last year as a prize for creative nonfiction based in Ghana. The prize named after one of Ghana’s finest citizens and worth US$500 was won by Accra, Ghana based yoga instructor S.Y Tetteh. This year the prize, which is run by the Center for African Cultural Excellence (CACE) who are the same folks who run the Writivism Short Story Prize, went continental. With EC Osondu at the helm and the collaboration of Angela Kintu and Panashe Chigumadzi, they asked for creative nonfiction from all corners of the African continent.

The writers who are in the running for the second Koffi Addo Prize for Creative Non Fiction have been announced by its judges. The three in a statement accompanying the names had this to say about the occasion.

What a joy to know that our beloved continent is still the home of many stories
What a pleasure to read these entries
What a feast of diverse voices
What more can we ask for than that we continue to tell our stories
What we hope for is that the pool from which these stories came will never run dry
What more…

Without further ado, here is the longlist of those who are in the running for the prize;

  1. Emmanuel Yew Sekyere (Ghana)
  2. Ivana Akotowaa Ofori (Ghana)
  3. Barbara Wanjala (Kenya)
  4. Winnie Ochieng (Kenya)
  5. Akpa Arinzechukwu (Nigeria)
  6. Kadiri Alex (Nigeria)
  7. Ugochukwu Evans Nwankwo (Nigeria)
  8. Okwudili Nebeolisa (Nigeria)
  9. Sada Malumfashi (Nigeria)
  10. Socrates Mbamalu (Nigeria)
  11. Vivian Ogbonna (Nigeria)
  12. Charles King (South Africa)
  13. Rufaro Samanga (South Africa)
  14. Godfrey E. Mishomari (Tanzania)
  15. Marko Phiri (Zimbabwe)