Kendeka Prize for African Literature 2022 shortlist announced

The shortlist for the Kendeka Prize for African Literature 2022 was announced on Thursday, September 15, 2022.

The Kendeka Prize for African Literature is awarded for the best piece of unpublished short story either fiction or creative non-fiction. The first edition of the prize founded by Kenyan writer and publisher Andrew Maina was won by Botswana writer Jenny Robson in 2021.

The Judging panel for 2022 is chaired by academic and writer Dr Siphiwo Mahala and includes novelist Bisi Adjapon as well as editor and columnist Faith Oneya. This panel announced the longlist of ten stories from 21 African nations that had entered on September 1.

They announced the shortlisted five stories on Thursday with the following five writers;

  • Star Boy, Adaoro Raji, Nigeria
  • Isithunzi, Beverley Ann Abrahams, Zimbabwe
  • Chained, Scholastica Moraa, Kenya
  • Ashes on Platters of Gold, Ola W. Halim, Nigeria
  • Until Mushrooms Sprout, Joe Nyirenda, Zambia

The award ceremony will be held in Thika, Kenya on Saturday, September 24. The first Prize is KES 100,000, the second and the third prizes are KES 50,000 and KES 25,000 respectively.