Awards Fiction Kenya Nigeria Zambia Zimbabwe

Kendeka Prize for African Literature 2022 longlist announced

The longlist for the Kendeka Prize for African Literature 2022 was announced on Thursday, September 1, 2022.

The Kendeka Prize for African Literature is awarded for the best piece of an unpublished short story either fiction or creative non-fiction. The first edition of the prize founded by Kenyan writer and publisher Andrew Maina was won by Botswana writer Jenny Robson in 2021.

The Judges panel chaired by academic and writer Dr Siphiwo Mahala includes novelist Bisi Adjapon as well as editor and columnist Faith Oneya. This panel announced the longlist of ten stories from 21 African nations that had entered. Those in the running for the award are;

  • Chained, Scholastica Moraa (Kenya)
  • Star Boy, Adaoro Raji, (Nigeria)
  • Isithunzi, Beverley Ann Abrahams (Zimbabwe)
  • The weight of grief, Ewa Gerald Onyebuchi (Nigeria)
  • Ashes on Platters of Gold, Ola W. Halim (Nigeria)
  • Bittersweet, Like Lemonade, Chiemeziem Everest Udochukwu (Nigeria)
  • Anchor for the Baby, Ibrahim Mustapha Enesi (Nigeria)
  • Until Mushrooms Sprout, Joe Nyirenda (Zambia)
  • The Judgement, Agomuo Juliana Chinaza (Nigeria)
  • Luckiest Bastards, Uchechi Princewill Akachi (Nigeria)

A shortlist of five stories will be made public on September 15 before the top three winners are announced during the award ceremony to be held on September 24 at the Fourteen Falls Leisure Lodge, Thika, Kenya. The first prize is KES 100,000, the second and the third prizes are KES 50,000 and KES 25,000 respectively.

By James Murua

This blog is run by James Murua a Nairobi, Kenya based lover of books.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.