Chowa Chikumbi, Samuel Zimba, Vanessa Nakayange, Mukuka Nkunde, Rhodasi Mwale, Otensia Kapinga are on the shortlist for the Kalemba Short Story Prize 2020 announced on September 1, 2020.

The Kalemba Short Story Prize is awarded annually to the best work of original and unpublished short fiction written in English by a Zambian administered and funded by Ukusefya Words. It has been won in the past by Mali Kambandu (2018) and Mubanga Kalimamukwento (2019).

The judges for the 2020 edition are Ellen Banda-Aaku who chairs alongside Masande Ntshanga, Remy Ngamije, and 2018 winner Mali Kambandu. This judging panel announced the longlist for the Zambia-based prize on August 22. They have today revealed the shortlist of those still in the running for the prize and they are;

  • A Silent Cry – Chowa Chikumbi
  • Junta or Divorce – Samuel Zimba
  • I’ll Keep You Safe – Vanessa Nakayange
  • Daze – Mukuka Nkunde
  • If It Ain’t Broke – Rhodasi Mwale
  • After The Storm – Otensia Kapinga

Ellen Banda-Aaku, the chair of the judging panel, described the six short-listed stories as “poignant, emotive and fresh with unusual twists.”

The winner of the prize, worth US$1,000, will be announced on Monday, September 7, 2020.