Kalemba Prize 2019

The shortlist for the Kalemba Short Story Prize 2019 was announced on May 2, 2019.

The Kalemba Short Story Prize brought a new lease of life into the Zambian literary community when it emerged in 2018. The award worth US$1,000 was aimed at short story writers from the Southern African country. The first winner was screenplay and short story writer Mali Kambandu.

The 2019 edition of the prize kicked off in October last year with a call out for entries from Zambian writers. For those who made submissions, it was announced that their entries would be judged by Kayo Chingoyi, Austin Kaluba, Mulenga Kapwepwe and Ainehi Edoro who took the role of chair.

The longlist for the prize was announced on April 5 with 32 writers making in the cut. The six final entries for the prize are:

  • The Masks – Lucy Zulu Simuzingili.
  • All To love – Lydia Ngoma.
  • Pain By Any Other Name – Fiske Nyirongo.
  • Inswa – Mubanga Kalimamukwento.
  • Binary – Jumani Clarke.
  • Career Battle – Mirriam Lusambo.

Chair of Judges, writer, and Professor of English, Ainehi Edoro described the six short-listed stories as “dramatic, exciting, resonant and evocative,” woven around the subjects of love, resistance, loss, and survival.

The winning author to be announced on 17 June will receive a $1,000 prize for their piece of short fiction.