K & L Prize 2021

The shortlist for the K & L Prize for African Literature 2021 was announced on Sunday, October 3, 2021.

The K & L Prize which awards $1000 (New Zealand) to the best piece of unpublished fiction by an African resident, age 18 to 25, was founded by New Zealand-based Nigerian writer Myles Ojabo in 2018. Previous winners of the award, named after the kids of its founder Kyle and Leona, have been Sisca Julius (2019) and Kanyinsola Olorunnisola (2020).

The judges for this year’s award are writer and first K & L Prize for African Literature winner Sisca Julius, editor, publisher, cultural enthusiast and development worker Su’ur Agema and K & L Prize for African Literature founder Myles Ojabo. This panel announced the longlist for the prize on September 1 before the shortlist was revealed over the weekend.

Those still in the running for the award are;

  • Ikang Money by Inimfon Inyang (Nigeria)
  • The Things you Find in Tight Places by Ntui Vincent Mbey (Nigeria)
  • The Hidden Brave by Chikondi Tembo (Zambia)
  • A Grain in Time by Joseph Olamide Babalola (Nigeria)
  • Kesandu by Mustapha Enesi (Nigeria)
  • Insanity by Chinecherem Udo (Nigeria)

The winner will be announced later in October 2021.