K & L Prize 2021

The longlist for the K & L Prize 2021 has been announced today, Wednesday, September 1, 2021

The K & L Prize, founded by New Zealand-based Nigerian writer Myles Ojabo in 2018, awards $1000 (New Zealand) to the best piece of unpublished fiction. Previous winners of award, named after the kids of its founder Kyle and Leona, have been Sisca Julius (2019) and Kanyinsola Olorunnisola (2020).  

The longlist for this year’s edition of the prize have been announced today and those in the running are;

  • Dust Chewers by Bono Sigudu
  • Ikang Money by Inimfon Inyang
  • Faroh by Adam Nyang
  • The Things you Find in Tight Places by Ntui Vincent Mbey
  • What Happened in Irele by Tezor Dedam
  • The Colonia Virus Saga by Wealth Okete
  • The Hidden Brave by Chikondi Tembo
  • A Grain in Time by Joseph Olamide Babalola
  • Kesandu by Ibrahim Mustapha
  • Insanity by Chinecherem Udo
  • Mad Mind by Deryus Snow
  • May it Dawn by Bryan Okwesili
  • True Chase by Ufuoma Bakporhe

The shortlist and winner will be announced in due course.