The shortlists for the Jhalak Prize 2021, for adults, YA, and Children were announced on April 13, 2021.

The Jhalak Prize for Book of the Year by a Writer of Colour is an annual literary prize awarded to British or British-resident BAME (Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic) writers. The Jhalak Prize, launched in 2016, was created by writers Sunny Singh and Nikesh Shukla as well as Media Diversified. Previous winners of the award have been Jacob Ross (2017), Reni Eddo-Lodge (2018), Guy Gunaratne (2019), and Johny Pitts (2020).

The judges for the 2021 edition of the prize for adults are Yvonne Battle-Felton, Louise Doughty, and Peter Kalu. This team, which announced the longlist on March 9, revealed the shortlist yesterday. Those still in the running for the prize are;

  • Romalyn Ante – Antiemetic for Homesickness (Chatto & Windus)
  • Catherine Cho – Inferno (Bloomsbury Circus)
  • Rachel Long – My Darling From the Lions (Picador)
  • Katy Massey – Are We Home Yet (jacaranda)
  • Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi – The First Woman (Oneworld Publications)
  • Paul Mendez – Rainbow Milk (Dialogue Books)

This year, the prize organisers have included Children’s & YA literature in the books that get honours. Those categories are being judged by Verna Allette Wilkins, Kiran Millwood Hargrave, and Candy Gourlay. On their shortlist there are;

  • Nii Ayikwei Parkes & Avril Filomeno – The GA Picture Alphabet (Kane Series)
  • Kereen Getten – When Life Gives You Mangoes (Pushkin Children’s Books)
  • Danielle Jawondo – And the Stars Were Burning Brightly (Simon & Schuster)
  • Catherine Johnson – Queen of Freedom (Pushkin Children’s Books)
  • Patrice Lawrence – Eight Pieces of Silva (Hodder Children’s Books)
  • Margaret Sturton – A Fox Called Herbert (Andersen Press)

The winner will be revealed on May 25, 2021.