Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi

Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi’s short story collection Manchester Happened is on the longlist for the Edge Hill Short Story Prize 2020 announced on July 8, 2020.

The Edge Hill Short Story Prize, awarded annually by Edge Hill University for excellence in a published single author short story collection, was by founded Professor Ailsa Cox in 2006. It is the only award that recognises excellence in a published, single-authored collection of short stories in the UK and Ireland annually. Previous years’ winners have been Colm Tóibín, Claire Keegan, Chris Beckett, Jeremy Dyson, Graham Mort, Sarah Hall, John Burnside, Kirsty Gunn, Jessie Greengrass, Daisy Johnson, Tessa Hadley, and David Szalay.

The judges of the 2020 prize are 2019 winner David Szalay, Sara Hunt, managing director of award-winning independent publisher Saraband, and Dr Zayneb Allak, poet and creative writing lecturer at Edge Hill University Billy Cowan.

“At this precarious time I am thrilled that Edge Hill University is continuing its support of the short story and those who write and publish in this form,” Billy Cowan said. “This year, our readers particularly engaged with collections written by women and this all-female longlist, the first time we have had one, feels special. Choosing a shortlist is not going to be easy!”

The longlist for 2020 is;

  • Julia Armfield – Salt Slow (Picador).
  • Lisa Blower – It’s Gone Dark Over Bill’s Mother’s (Myriad Editions).
  • Elleke Boehmer – To the Volcano (Myriad Editions).
  • Lucy Sweeney Byrne – Paris Syndrome (Banshee Press).
  • Ruby Cowling – This Paradise (Boiler House Press).
  • Shelley Day – What Are You Like (Postbox Press)
  • Nicole Flattery – Show Them a Good Time (Bloomsbury)
  • Sarah Hall – Sudden Traveller (Faber)
  • Kirsty Logan – Things We Say in the Dark (Vintage)
  • Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi – Manchester Happened (One World)
  • Linda Mannheim – This Way to Departures (Influx Press)
  • Amanda O’Callaghan – This Taste of Silence (University of Queensland Press).

A short list will be announced by September, with the winner of the £10,000 prize announced in November.