Time of the writer 2017 writers

JamesMurua.com Outstanding African literary Awards 2017

We present to you the outstanding literary happenings for 2017.

What a year 2017 was. We had many things happen over the year positive and negative. Just like in 2016, we give you a rundown of the year that was in African literature. The book choices are of course very subjective.


Miriam Tlali
Miriam Tlali

Our lows were the losses of some of the best of the writing world transiting to the ancestor role that we all eventually take up. Some of the sad goodbyes were for Egyptian Novelist and Publisher Mekkawi Said, Algerian novelist and poet Dihia Louiz, Ghanaian author of short stories and speculative fiction Kojo Laing, South African authors Miriam Tlali and Peter Abrahams. Probably the most famous goodbye was for legendary Nigerian author Buchi Emecheta. We say goodbye to them. Asante sana for the amazing work that set the foundation for what we enjoy today.


Peter Kimani
Peter Kimani


  • East Africa: Dance of the Jakaranda | Peter Kimani
  • West Africa: Stay With Me | Ayobami Adebayo
  • South Africa: The Blessed Girl | Angela Makholwa
  • North Africa: No entry :’(
  • Overall: Dance of the Jakaranda | Peter Kimani

Anthology: Versus; A Huza Press Anthology 2017 | Huza Press

Short Story Collection: What It Means When a Man Falls from the Sky | Lesley Nneka Arimah

Nonfiction: City of Thorns | Ben Rawlence

Poetry: Collective Amnesia | Koleka Putuma

Literary Prizes

Pan African Prizes

Jowhor Ile etisalat Prize for Literature 2016 winner
Jowhor Ile

National Prizes

Henry Ole Kulet
Henry Ole Kulet

Literary Festivals

Abantu Book Festival 2017 staff and volunteers promise you an amazing time.
Abantu Book Festival 2017 staff and volunteers promise you an amazing time.
  • Literary Festival of the year: Abantu Book Festival.
  • New Literary Festival of the year: Kaduna Literary Festival.

2 Replies to “JamesMurua.com Outstanding African literary Awards 2017”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.