James Currey Prize for African Literature

There are ten writers on the longlist for the James Currey Prize for Literature announced today, June 16, 2021.

The James Currey Prize for African Literature is an annual award for the best-unpublished work of fiction written in English by any writer, set in Africa or on Africans in Africa or in Diaspora. It was established in 2020 by Nigerian writer, filmmaker and publisher of Hattus Books, Onyeka Nwelue, in honour of James Currey, the leading publisher of academic books on Africa – dedicated to distributing books about Africa in Africa. The winner receives £1000.

Jury members include Canada-based Nigerian publisher, Bibi Ukonu; Dr. Pinkie Megkwe (Botswana), Barbara Adair (South Africa), Kennedy Ekezie-Joseph (Nigeria), Arun Jay (India), and Miko Yamanouchi (Japan). They have today announced the longlist and those in the running for the prize money are;

  • Walking in Honey by Noella Moshi
  • Therapy Sessions by Onyekachi Peter Onuoha
  • The Devil’s Daughter by Khumbo Mhone
  • And Then He Sang A Lullaby by Ani Kayode Somtochukwu
  • They Like Us Dead by Adio-Adet Dinika
  • Bones and Runes by Stephen Embleton
  • The Rage of Lambs by Solomon Kobina Aremu
  • The Masses on Ashes by Okwudiri Job
  • Pebbles Picked on the Beach by Moraa Gitaa
  • A Reign of Terror by Ntando Gerald

Sarah Inya Lawal, Chair of Jury, in her statement said: “It is my pleasure to announce the longlist of the 2021 James Currey Prize for African Literature.

A shortlist will be released on July 1 and this will be followed by the announcement of the winner on September 3 at a prize ceremony scheduled in the UK.