James Currey Prize for African Literature

The writers on the shortlist for the James Currey Prize for African Literature 2022 have been announced today, July 1, 2022.

The James Currey Prize for African Literature is an annual award for the best-unpublished work of fiction written in English by any writer, set in Africa or on Africans in Africa or in the Diaspora. It was established in 2020 by Nigerian writer, filmmaker and publisher Onyeka Nwelue, in honour of James Currey, a publisher of academic books on Africa. The first winner of the prize was Ani Kayode Somtochukwu.

The jury for 2022 chaired by Ever Obi, Indian author and scholar, Dr. Suraj Yengde, Teri Sillo (United Kingdom), Thomas Dukelabik Amanquandor (Ghana), Peace Anyiam-Osigwe (Nigeria), Olukorede S Yishau (Nigeria), and Charmaine R Mujeri (Zimbabwe).

The longlist for the awards was announced on June 1 before the shortlist was revealed. Jury chair Ever Obi in an announcement said: “The major work is done.”

The shortlisted writers are;

  • Rose Okeke (Nigeria), Child of the Corn
  • Buntu Siwisa (South Africa), Paperless
  • Esomnofu Ebelenna Tobenna (Nigeria), Madness
  • Abenea Ndago (Kenya), Lord Kitchener
  • Mohammed Hammie (Tanzania), Mandiga’s Well

The winner of the award will be announced at a prize ceremony scheduled at the University of Oxford during the James Currey Literary Festival on September 3. The winner receives £1000.