Dr. Michael Osei Agyapong receives the Ananse Prize for Literature 2016

Inaugural Ghana Writers Awards 2016 hosted in Accra

The first Ghana Writers Awards 2016 were hosted in Accra with prizes in prose and poetry going worthy winners. The theme of the event was “Preserving the Ghanaian Cultures Through Creative Writing: The role of Writers.”

Dr. Michael Osei Agyapong receives the Ananse Prize for Literature 2016
Dr. Michael Osei Agyapong receives the Ananse Prize for Literature 2016

Ghana Writers Awards is a literary prize instituted by some young Ghanaian literary enthusiasts to celebrate and promote writers and literature in the West African nation.

The Award ceremony, which took place on Saturday 30th October included performances from the groups in poetry recitals, music, dances and great performances from cultural troops across the country.

When the awarding started, Dr Michael Osei Agyapong won the Ananse Prize for Literature winner with his story titled Changing Hands. The Ananse Prize which is the most sought after prize is named after a popular fictional character created in most Ghanaian literary works, particularly in the folktales. Dr Agyapong is also a junior doctor at the Okomfo Anokye Teaching Hospital

Bawa Sadique Anyame, won the poetry category with her poem titled Ruses of the gods while Rachel Lawerh won the short story category with the title Give them my other leg,.

An honorary award was presented to traditional poet Philip Boakye Dua Oyinka known as Nana Asaase in recognition of his exemplary role in promoting indigenous and contemporary Ghanaian poetry. Also receiving recognition were Adjei Agyei Baah, Citi Fm, Graphic Communications Group Limited, Efua Sutherland and KARIS.

In an interview with the Ghana News Agency, Zadok Gyesi, the President of Ghana Writers Awards said, “the maiden awards opens room for subsequent ones with the aim of boosting the African literary arts industry”.

The award was held in partnership with KHARIS, Viva-Ghana, Writers International Network (Canada), Mensa Press (US), The Arachneed (India).

Other partners were Media Mall, Bea Works, Turf, Zulu Nation, Tangeant Studios, McAid Organisation, and Marvel Ghana Mini Golf Course.

3 Replies to “Inaugural Ghana Writers Awards 2016 hosted in Accra”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.