Hurston/Wright Foundation Legacy Awards 2021 winners announced.

The winners for the Hurston/Wright Foundation Legacy Awards 2021 were announced on Friday, October 15, 2021

The Hurston/Wright Legacy Awards, named for US African American writers Zora Neale Hurston and Richard Wright, honour the best in Black literature in the United States and around the globe. Introduced in 2001, the Legacy Award for fiction, nonfiction and poetry was the first national award in the United States presented to Black writers by a national organization of Black writers. Some of the previous winners have been Alain Mabanckou, Colson Whitehead, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Chris Abani, Aminatta Forna, and Kwame Dawes.

The award organisers announced the finalists in the different categories on Wednesday, August 18 before the winners were revealed on Friday evening. The winners for this year are;

The 2021 Legacy Awards Debut Fiction nominees

  • Remembrance, Rita Woods

The 2021 Legacy Awards Fiction nominees

  • Telephone, Percival Everett

The 2021 Legacy Awards Nonfiction nominees

  • Franchise: The Golden Arches in Black America, Marcia Chatelain

The 2021 Legacy Awards Poetry nominees

  • Seeing the Body: Poems, Rachel Eliza Griffiths

Rita Woods on her win said, “This. . .this right here is my head spinning off! Don’t exactly know what happened but I am filled with joy!”

Marcia Chatelain said on her win, “My sweet baby boy was my plus one for this virtual award ceremony. Proud of this acknowledgment from the @HurstonWright for FRANCHISE.”

Rachel Eliza Griffiths, who accepting the award in tears, dedicated the win to her mother.