Hurston/Wright Foundation Legacy Awards

The finalists for the Hurston/Wright Foundation Legacy Awards 2021 were announced on Wednesday, August 18, 2021.

The Hurston/Wright Legacy Awards, named for US African American writers Zora Neale Hurston and Richard Wright, honour the best in Black literature in the United States and around the globe. Introduced in 2001, the Legacy Award for fiction, nonfiction and poetry was the first national award in the United States presented to Black writers by a national organization of Black writers. Some of the previous winners have been Alain Mabanckou, Colson Whitehead, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Chris Abani, Aminatta Forna, and Kwame Dawes.

The award announced the finalists in the different categories on Wednesday and they are;

The 2021 Legacy Awards Debut Fiction nominees

  • Black Sunday, Tola Rotimi Abraham
  • The Secret Lives of Church Ladies, Deesha Philyaw
  • Remembrance, Rita Woods
  • The Coyotes of Carthage, Steven Wright

The 2021 Legacy Awards Fiction nominees

  • These Bodies, Morgan Christie
  • Ring Shout, P Djeli Clark
  • Telephone, Percival Everett
  • Book of the Little Axe, Lauren Francis-Sharma
  • The Freedom Artist, Ben Okri
  • Black Bottom Saints, Alice Randall

The 2021 Legacy Awards Nonfiction nominees

  • Tacky’s Revolt: The Story of an Atlantic Slave War, Vincent Brown
  • Franchise: The Golden Arches in Black America, Marcia Chatelain
  • The Address Book: What Street Addresses Reveal About Identity, Race, Wealth, and Power, Deirdre Mask
  • Mediocre: The Dangerous Legacy of White Male America, Ijeoma Oluo
  • The Alchemy of Us: How Humans and Matter Transformed One Another, Ainissa Ramirez
  • Memorial Drive: A Daughters Memoir, Natasha Trethewey

The 2021 Legacy Awards Poetry nominees

  • Fantasia for the Man in Blue, Tommy Blount
  • Seeing the Body: Poems, Rachel Eliza Griffiths
  • Jump the Clock: New and Selected Poems, Erica Hunt
  • Kontemporary Amerikan Poetry, John Murillo
  • White Blood: A Lyric of Virginia, Kiki Petrosino
  • Pale Colors In a Tall Field, Carl Phillips

The winners will be revealed at the Legacy Awards Ceremony on October 15th, 2021.