The finalists for the Hugo Awards 2021 were announced on Wednesday, April 6, 2022. Here are the writers of African descent who made the list.

The Hugo and Astounding Awards, organized by the World Science Fiction Society, are awarded for the best science fiction or fantasy works and achievements of the previous year. Named after the founder of science fiction magazine Amazing Stories Hugo Gernsback, they are handed out at the annual World Science Fiction Convention. Previous winners include Isaac Asimov, Larry Niven, Arthur C. Clarke, and J. K. Rowling, Nnedi Okorafor, N.K. Jemisin, and many more.

For 2022, the finalists were announced on Wednesday with the following writers and editors of African descent making the cut.

Best Novel

  • A Master of Djinn, P. Djèlí Clark (Tordotcom; Orbit UK)

Best Novellette

  •  “O2 Arena”, by Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki (Galaxy’s Edge, Nov 2021)

Best Series

  • The Kingston Cycle, by C. L. Polk (Tordotcom)

Best Graphic Story or Comic

  • Far Sector, written by N.K. Jemisin, art by Jamal Campbell (DC)

Best Editor, Short Form

  • Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki
  • Sheree Renée Thomas

Best Semiprozine

  • FIYAH Magazine of Black Speculative Fiction, publisher Troy L Wiggins; executive editor DaVaun Sanders; managing editor Eboni Dunbar; poetry editor B. Sharise Moore; reviews editor and social media manager Brent Lambert; art director L. D. Lewis; web editor Chavonne Brown; non-fiction editor Margeaux Weston; guest editors Summer Farah and Nadia Shammas; acquiring editors Kaleb Russell, Rebecca McGee, Kerine Wint, Joshua Morley, Emmalia Harrington, Genine Tyson, Tonya R. Moore, Danny Lore; technical assistant Nelson Rolon
  • Uncanny Magazine, publishers and editors-in-chief Lynne M. Thomas and Michael Damian Thomas; managing/poetry editor Chimedum Ohaegbu; nonfiction editor Elsa Sjunneson; podcast producers Erika Ensign & Steven Schapansky

Lodestar Award for Best Young Adult Book (presented by the World Science Fiction Society)

  • Redemptor, by Jordan Ifueko (Amulet Books / Hot Key Books)

Astounding Award for Best New Writer (presented by Dell Magazines)

  • Tracy Deonn
  • Micaiah Johnson

Here are some reactions to the nominations;

The winners of the awards will be announced later in the year.