Fellowships Fiction Poetry United States Zimbabwe

Hanif Abdurraqib, Novuyo Rosa Tshuma receive Lannan Literary Fellowships 2020

Hanif Abdurraqib and Novuyo Rosa Tshuma were announced recipients of Lannan Literary Fellowships on November 21, 2020.

The Lannan Literary Awards and Fellowships were established to honour both established and emerging writers whose work is of exceptional quality in 1989. The awards recognize writers who have made significant contributions to English-language literature. The fellowships recognize writers of distinctive literary merit who demonstrate the potential for continued outstanding work. Some of the previous recipients have been Mahmoud Darwish, Roxanne Dunbar-Ortiz, Arundhati Roy, Bryan Stephenson, and Cornel West.

The recipients for the fellowships and the awards for this year were announced and they are;

  • Novuyo Rosa Tshuma, 2020, Fiction, Fellowship
  • Nguyễn Phan Quế Mai, 2020, Fiction, Fellowship
  • Rigoberto González, 2020, Poetry, Fellowship
  • Isabella Hammad, 2020, Fiction, Fellowship
  • Hanif Abdurraqib, 2020, Poetry, Fellowship
  • Carolyn Forché, 2020, Poetry, Award

Novuyo Rosa Tshuma is a Zimbabwean writer based in the USA who has written the novella Shadows (2013) and the novel House of Stone (2018).

Hanif Abdurraqib is a poet, essayist, and cultural critic. He is the author of 2016 poetry collection The Crown Ain’t Worth Much (published as Hanif Willis-Abdurraqib), the 2017 essay collection They Can’t Kill Us Until They Kill Us, the 2019 non-fiction book, Go Ahead in the Rain: Notes on A Tribe Called Quest on the American hip-hop group A Tribe Called Quest, and the 2019 poetry collection A Fortune for Your Disaster.

By James Murua

This blog is run by James Murua a Nairobi, Kenya based lover of books.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.