Algeria Awards Cameroon Fiction Nonfiction

Grand Prix des Associations Littéraires 2018 winners announced in Yaounde.

The winners of the Grand Prix des Associations Littéraires 2018 were announced at a ceremony in Yaoundé, Cameroon on April 23, 2019.

The Grand Prix des Associations Littéraires (Grand Prix of Literary Associations) were launched in Cameroon in 2013. The awards, which are run in partnership with Brasseries du Cameroun with sponsorship by Castel Beer, are based on the proposals of literary associations.

The winners of the 2018 edition of the awards were announced at the French Institute of Cameroon in Yaoundé with winners in several categories being honoured. The one category that already had a winner was the Grand Prix des mécènes which was awarded to Ngugi wa Thiong’o for his body of work.

Yasmina Khadra
Yasmina Khadra

Yasmina Khadra of Algeria and Helen Lackner of the United Kingdom were the big winners in the hotly contested categories of Research and Fine-Letters. Yasmina Khadra won the trophy in the Bellas-Letras category for Khalil, a novel based on the Paris terrorist attacks of November 13, 2015.  Helen Lackner was recognised for her work entitled Yemen in Crisis a book focusing on the crisis in Yemen since 2011.

The full list of winners on the night is;

  • Grand Prix de la Mémoire: Jean-Marc Ela, Cameroonian philosopher (1936-2008)
  • Grand Prix des mécènes: Ngũgĩ wa Thiong’o, Kenyan writer awarded for all his work.
  • Grand Prix de la Recherche: (Research category): Helen Lackner, awarded for her work entitled Yemen in Crisis, supported by the Associations of Middle East Studies (USA).
  • Grand Prix des Belles-Lettres: (Category GPLA Belles-Lettres): Yasmina Khadra, awarded for her novel entitled Khalil, backed by the Cultural Association of the Big House of Tlemcen (Algeria).
  • Asso-prize: The Kaleidoscope, an association based in Mexico, awarded for its efforts and non-profit activities to promote reading and literature.

By James Murua

This blog is run by James Murua a Nairobi, Kenya based lover of books.

3 replies on “Grand Prix des Associations Littéraires 2018 winners announced in Yaounde.”

[…] Previous winners of this prize have been Magloire Ondoa for Textes et Documents du Cameroun (1815–2012) and Eric Mendi for Opération Obama in 2013 ; Hermine Kembo for Le système africain de protection des droits de l’homme and Charles Salé for La’afal. Ils ont dit in 2014; Jacques Fame Ndongo, for Essai sur la sémiotique d’une civilisation en mutation and Fiston Mwanza Mujila for Tram 83 in 2015; Felwine Sarr for Afrotopia and Eric Mendi for AFANE – Forêt Equatoriale in 2016; Ebénézer Billé and Georges Moukouti, for Hispanoamérica: visión contemporánea and Macaire Etty, for La geste de Bréké in 2017. The 2018 winners were among others Ngũgĩ wa Thiong’o and Yasmina Khadra. […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.