Awards Fiction Ghana Nonfiction Poetry

Ghana Association of Writers Literary Awards 2022 winners announced.

The winners of the Ghana Association of Writers Literary Awards 2022 were announced in a ceremony in Accra on January 21, 2023

The Ghana Association of Writers Literary Awards, first held in 1987, were instituted to honour Ghanaian literary excellence and to celebrate the outstanding efforts made by writers. They went on a hiatus until 2017 to commemorate both the Ghana Association of Writers and Ghana’s sixty years of statehood. Since then, the awards hosted in 2017in 2018in 2019, and in 2021 have shone a light on some of the best writing from the West African nation.

The shortlists for those in running for this year’s awards were announced on November 1. The winners were revealed at a ceremony at the Accra Metropolitan Assembly Emporium in Accra on Saturday evening. They were;


1. The Illegitimate Prince, Empi Baryeh 

2. Urban Sojourn, Solomon Kuu-Ire 

3. New Currency,Ajoa Yeboah-Afari

Short Story

1. Mariah’s Wonder, Doris Akosua Tay

Spoken Word

  1. I Am Not A Mother, Apiorkor Seyiram Ashong -Abbey 
  2. A Letter To Osagyefo Dr Kwame Nkrumah, Nana Fredua- Agyeman Jnr
  3. The Man Kwame Nkrumah, Prize -Osman Abraham Lincoln


  1. Yrical Textiles, Gabriel Awuah Mainoo 
  2. Aguriboma, Azags Gandaah 
  3. My Generation and Other Poems, Victor Nana Odei Ofei

Children’s Story Book

  1. Even When Your Voice Shakes, Ruby Yayra Goka 
  2. Slum Formula, Silas Selorm 
  3. King Goat Aponkye, Mariska ArabaTaylor-Darko

Creative Nonfiction

  1. Steps For The Progress of the Black Race, Lt Col Richard D. Nimako
  2. Revitalising Mission and Missiology,  Vincent Anane Denteh
  3. Faith To Conquer And Step Out, Kofi Adjei

Ghanaian Special Language Award

  1. Mfantse Nsendzi Na Nsiesie, Ebenezer Koomson

Math and Science Award

  1. The Adventures of Hurricane And Tornado,(Part 2. Bringing the water home), Godfred Edusei Derkyi. 
  2. Practical Decision Support Resources For Cardiovascular Diseases, Michael Opoku Agyemang

Special Award to Youngest Entrant

  1. More Nice City, Rachel Yram Perpetual Brain Tugbedzo 

The evening included a keynote address by Asare Konadu Yamoah the chairman of the Ghana Cultural Forum.

By James Murua

This blog is run by James Murua a Nairobi, Kenya based lover of books.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.