Nebula awards

The finalists for the Nebula Awards 2022 were announced on Tuesday, March 8, 2022. Here are the writers of African descent in the running.

The Nebula Awards, first held in 1966, recognise the best works of science fiction or fantasy published in the United States. They are organized and awarded by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, a non-profit association of professional science fiction and fantasy writers annually. Some winners of the awards in the past have been Isaac Asimov, Arthur C. Clarke, Octavia E. Butler, Nnedi Okorafor, Tomi Adeyemi, and P. Djèlí Clark.

The finalists for this year have been revealed and the following writers of African descent are in the running;

Nebula Award for Novel

  • The Unbroken, C.L. Clark (Orbit US; Orbit UK)
  • A Master of Djinn, P. Djèlí Clark (Tordotcom; Orbit UK)

Nebula Award for Novella

  •  Flowers for the Sea, Zin E. Rocklyn (Tordotcom)

Nebula Award for Novelette

  • “O2 Arena”, Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki (Galaxy’s Edge 11/21)

The Andre Norton Nebula Award for Middle Grade and Young Adult Fiction

  • Redemptor, Jordan Ifueko (Amulet; Hot Key)
  • Root Magic, Eden Royce (Walden Pond)

The awards will be presented in a virtual ceremony on Saturday, May 21, 2022, that will stream live as part of the 2022 Nebula Conference Online. Winners in each category will be determined by the vote of Full, Active, and Senior members of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America.