A workshop for Selling Rights Internationally for African Publishers will be conducted by Sylvia Schuster on Zoom on February 12, 2021. The event will be moderated by James Murua.

Frankfurter Buchmesse, hosted in Frankfurt, Germany, where buyers and sellers of rights from all over the world converge, has long been considered the Mecca of the rights business. The Buchmesse recently invested in Frankfurt Rights, an international rights platform that helps facilitate trade in rights and licensing for books/texts. The new platform seeks to bring in new full members from different parts of the world, including Africa. The focus is on publishers for whom it is difficult to create visibility for their titles and who are also not used to this very convenient way of trading rights, licenses, and permissions.

As part of the incentives for the new platform, there is a workshop being conducted on Zoom this Friday, February 12 at 10:00 GMT/11:00 WAT/12:00 CAT/13:00 EAT. The workshop will be run by Sylvia Schuster with moderation by blogger and podcaster James Murua. The content of the workshop will be among other things, why you need to look at selling rights to your publication internationally, what tools you would need to do this work, how to get attention for your books, and loads more.

If you are a publisher and you would like to find out how you can leverage on your catalogue this might just be the workshop for you. Please note that this workshop is free and you do not have to be signed up to the Frankfurt Rights platform to participate.

Update: The callout for this workshop has closed.