Events in African literature that you can attend this weekend featuring among others Oswalde Lewat, Nana Ekua Brew Hammond, Ayesha Harruna Attah, and Kola Tubosun.

March 12

Event: Nana Ekua Brew Hammond and Ayesha Harruna Attah Cross Continental Reading
Time:
3pm GMT/4pm WAT/5pm CAT/6pm EAT
Venue: Library of Africa and African Diaspora/Virtual
Details: On poster. Register by clicking here.

Nana Ekua Brew Hammond and Ayesha Harruna Attah Cross Continental Reading

For young readers (and the parents, librarians, educators, and advocates who love them) comes a Cross-Continental Reading Event featuring Authors Ayesha Harruna Attah (The Deep Blue, Zainab Takes New York, The Hundred Wells Of Salaga, and Harmattan Rain) and Nana Ekua Brew-Hammond (Blue: A History of The Colour As Deep As The Sea And As Wide As The Sea and Powder Necklace) hosted by Elizabeth Johnson (Library of Africa and the African Diaspora).

Event: Reading Shallow Tales Review II
Time: 12pm WAT/13hrs CAT/14hrs EAT
Venue:
Virtual
Details: on poster

Reading Shallow Tales Review II

To celebrate its second year of standard issue publication, The Shallow Tales Review is bringing together African literary writers, publishers, critics, scholars and academics, to read and speak at this year’s event.

The Shallow Tales Review is an electronic magazine from Africa aimed at curating African and Black Literature.

Event: Virtually Yours with Oswalde Lewat
Venue:
Virtual
Time: 4pm GMT/ 5pm WAT/ 6pm CAT/ 7pm EAT
Details:
Click here

Virtually Yours with Oswalde Lewat

Oswalde Lewat’s Les Aquatiques is the featured book for “Virtually Yours,” runs on March 12, 2022. She will be moderated by Edwige-Renée Dro. The event hosted by Goethe-Institut Abidjan will run from 4pm GMT, 5pm WAT, 6pm CAT, and 7pm EAT.

Virtually Yours is a regional project of Goethe-Institut Sub Saharan Africa, a series of online discussions with contemporary authors from Africa. “Virtually Yours” aims to create an online platform for avid readers, writers, academics, publishers, agents, and anyone else interested in literature by writers from Africa.

Register for this Virtual Gathering at the link below and stand the chance of winning a copy by clicking here.

Event: Nakuru Writers Meet
Venue: Kenya National Library Services, Nakuru
Time: 2-4pm
Details: On poster

Nakuru Writers Meet

The JamesMurua.com project “Kenya Writes” will be in the Kenyan town of Nakuru to meet with writers from the county in the Rift Valley. The event is supported by the Goethe-Institut Kenya, Kenya National Library Services, and World Reader.