Glenna Luschei Prize for African Poetry 2019 finalists

Dami Ajayi, Nick Makoha, and Koleka Putuma are the finalists of the Glenna Luschei Prize for African Poetry 2018 announced on May 24, 2019.

The Glenna Luschei Prize for African Poetry is named for poet, publisher, editor, businesswoman, and philanthropist, Glenna Luschei, who has also endowed in perpetuity the literary quarterly Prairie Schooner.

The award, which is one of the prizes administered by the African Poetry Book Fund, is awarded annually to a book published in the previous calendar year by an African poet. Previous winners of the prize have been Juliane Okot Bitek (2017), Rethabile Masilo (2016), Kobus Moolman (2015), and Amu Nnadi (2014).

The finalists for 2019 are:

  • A Woman’s Body is a Country by Dami Ajayi.
  • Kingdom of Gravity by Nick Makoha.
  • Collective Amnesia by Koleka Putuma.

These poets are now in the running for the award which comes with a cash prize of USD $1,000.