Colson Whithead, Bernardine Evaristo on UK’s Orwell Prize 2020 shortlist.

Colson Whitehead, Bernardine Evaristo on UK’s Orwell Prize 2020 shortlist.

Colson Whitehead and Bernardine Evaristo are on the shortlist of the UK’s Orwell Prize 2020 announced on May 21, 2019.

The Orwell Prizes, named in honour of English novelist, essayist, journalist and critic George Orwell, are the UK’s most prestigious prizes for political writing. The Orwell Foundation annually awards prizes for work which comes closest to George Orwell’s ambition ‘to make political writing into an art’. Starting in 1994, winners of the Orwell Prize were recognised in the categories of political writing and journalism. In 2018, they launched The Orwell Prize for Political Fiction, to be awarded for the first time in June 2019. Novuyo Rosa Tshuma and Diana Evans made the shortlist.

The judges for 2020 are Jude Kelly CBE (Chair), Tom Gatti, Sarah Shaffi, and Matthew Sperling. The team has announced the shortlist for the prize for 2020 and the fill list includes;

  • Lucy Ellmann, Ducks, Newburyport.
  • Edna O’Brien,
  • Bernardine Evaristo, Girl, Woman, Other.
  • Attica Locke, Heaven My Home.
  • Colson Whitehead, The Nickel Boys
  • John Lanchester, The Wall.

The winner of the £3,000 award will be announced on or around June 25, 2020, George Orwell’s birthday.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.