Colson Whitehead, Bernardine Evaristo on Orwell Prize 2020 longlist.

Colson Whitehead and Bernardine Evaristo are on the longlist of the Orwell Prize 2020 announced on May 21, 2019.

The Orwell Prizes, named in honour of English novelist, essayist, journalist and critic George Orwell, are the UK’s most prestigious prizes for political writing. The Orwell Foundation annually awards prizes for work which comes closest to George Orwell’s ambition ‘to make political writing into an art’. Starting in 1994, winners of the Orwell Prize were recognised in the categories of political writing and journalism. In 2018, they launched The Orwell Prize for Political Fiction, to be awarded for the first time in June 2019. Novuyo Rosa Tshuma and Diana Evans made the shortlist.

The judges for 2020 are Jude Kelly CBE (Chair), Tom Gatti, Sarah Shaffi, and Matthew Sperling. The team has announced the longlist for the prize for 2020 and the fill list includes;

  • Ducks, Newburyport by Lucy Ellmann.
  • The Nickel Boys by Colson Whitehead.
  • Girl, Woman, Other, by Bernardine Evaristo.
  • The Wall by John Lanchester.
  • This Paradise by Ruby Cowling.
  • Broken Jaw by Minoli Salgado.
  • The Topeka School by Ben Lerner.
  • The Man Who Saw Everything by Deborah Levy.
  • Heaven, My Home by Attica Locke.
  • To Calais, in Ordinary Time by James Meek.
  • Girl by Edna O’Brien.
  • The Travelers by Regina Porter
  • Spring by Ali Smith

The winner of the £3,000 award will be announced on or around June 25, 2020, George Orwell’s birthday.