Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie is engaging fans of her famous novel Half of A Yellow Sun on Instagram. The first session was on November 27 and the last will be on December 31, 2020.

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie is the author of the novels Purple Hibiscus (2003), Half of A Yellow Sun (2006), and Americanah (2013). The second novel gave the Nigerian writer international fame as she won the Women’s Prize (then known as the Orange Prize) in 2007. The novel was selected as the Women’s Prize’ “Winner of Winners which is celebrating its 25th anniversary. She will be receiving her award in a ceremony this December 6.

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

The writer who announced that she will be engaging fans of her hugely beloved book started this Friday, November 27. Picking fourteen questions from fans, she spoke about parts from the book like the airport scene and its importance, who key character domestic worker Ugwu was based on, and whether Nigeria still needs to reckon with the effects of the civil war that is also referred to as the Biafra war.

The writer will be engaging guests every Friday at 8 pm WAT (7 pm GMT, 9 pm CAT, 10 pm EAT). Details on how to participate can be found on her Instagram.