Awards Fiction France Rwanda

Beata Umubyeyi Mairesse wins Prix Kourouma 2023.

Beata Umubyeyi Mairesse’s novel Consolée was named the winner of Prix Kourouma 2023 at Salon Du Livre Geneva, Switzerland on Friday, March 24, 2023. Ahmadou Kourouma was a legendary Ivorian novelist of many titles including Les Soleils des indépendances (1968), Le diseur de verité (1972), and the most famous Allah n’est pas oblige (2000) which […]

Awards Fiction United States

Percival Everett on Dublin International Literary Award 2023 shortlist

Percival Everett’s novel The Trees is on the shortlist of the Dublin International Literary Award 2023 announced on Monday, March 28, 2023. The Dublin International Literary Award is presented annually for a novel written in English or translated into English to promote excellence in world literature since. The prize worth €100,000 is sponsored by the […]

Awards Fiction Nonfiction Poetry United States

Lambda Awards 2023 finalists announced.

The finalists for the Lambda Awards 2023 were announced on Monday, March 20, 2023. Here are the writers of African descent who made the cut. The Lambda Literary Awards, or the “Lammys,” as they are known, are an award of Lambda Literary, the oldest and largest literary arts organization advancing Lesbian, Gay, Trans, and Queer […]

Awards Fiction Nonfiction South Africa

South Africa’s Humanities and Social Sciences Awards 2023 winners announced.

The winners of the Humanities and Social Sciences Awards 2022 were announced in a ceremony in Pretoria, South Africa on March 18, 2023. The Humanities and Social Sciences Awards are open to South African publishers, scholars based in South African universities and independent artists linked to universities. The awards honour ‘outstanding, innovative and socially responsive […]

Fiction Literary Magazines Nigeria Nonfiction Poetry South Africa United States

Literary Magazines: Decolonial Passage, Maroko, Libretto, Johannesburg Review

Maroko, the Decolonial Passage, Libretto Magazine, and the Johannesburg Review of Books are currently available for your reading pleasure. the Decolonial Passage Decolonial Passage, founded in 2020, features writers of all backgrounds engaged in the decolonial project, regardless of the writer’s race, origin, gender, disability, or geographical location. The second issue of the magazine features […]

Events Fiction Kenya Nonfiction

Troy Onyango, Chiké Frankie Edozien for Nairobi events.

Troy Onyango and Chiké Frankie Edozien are set to feature in a series of readings in Nairobi, Kenya from March 23 – 25, 2023. Chiké Frankie Edozien is a Nigerian-American writer and journalist who is currently the director of New York University, Accra. He came to the notice of the African literary community when he […]

Fiction New Books Nigeria Sudan

Book Digest: Leila Aboulela, Fanta Dramé, Rosanna Amaka, Jarred Thompson

We wrap up book news for our readers in our regular Book Digest segment with books from Leila Aboulela, Fanta Dramé, Rosanna Amaka, and Jarred Thompson. River Spirit by Leila Aboulela Publisher: Grove Press          Date: March 7, 2023Genre: FictionWhere to find it: Grove Press. Leila Aboulela Leila Aboulela is the first-ever winner of the Caine Prize […]

Awards Fiction Kenya Nigeria South Africa Sudan Tanzania Zimbabwe

Island Prize 2023 longlist announced

The longlist for the Island Prize 2023 was announced on Monday, March 20, 2023. The Island Prize for a Debut Novel from Africa is a prize from Holland House Books (UK), Karavan Press (SA) as well as Booker Prize longlistee Karen Jennings. It is aimed at giving writers from Africa (or the diaspora) a chance […]

Awards Fiction Nonfiction Poetry

Isele Prizes 2023 shortlists announced.

The shortlists for the Isele Prizes 2023 were announced on Tuesday, March 21, 2023. The Isele Prizes were founded to celebrate the best of short stories, poetry, and essays by writers published in the Ukamaka Olisakwe founded Isele Magazine in 2022. They are split into three categories of – short stories, poetry, and essays, and […]

Awards Barbados Belize Fiction Jamaica Nonfiction Poetry Trinidad and Tobago United Kingdom

OCM Bocas Prize for Caribbean Literature 2023 longlist announced.

The longlist for the OCM Bocas Prize for Caribbean Literature 2023 was announced in Trinidad and Tobago on Wednesday, March 8, 2023. The OCM (One Caribbean Media) Bocas Prize for Caribbean Literature is an annual award for literary books by Caribbean writers, first handed out in 2011. Books are judged in three categories: poetry; fiction […]

Awards Fiction Nonfiction Poetry United Kingdom

British Book Awards 2023 shortlists announced  

The shortlists for the British Book Awards 2023, also known as The Nibbies, were announced in London, UK on Friday, March 17, 2023. The British Book Awards or Nibbies were founded by Fred Newman, the founder, editor, and publisher of Publishing News who ran them from 1990–2009. They were then acquired by Agile Marketing who […]

Awards Childrens literature Fiction United Kingdom United States Young Adult

Jhalak Prize 2023 longlists announced.

The longlists for the Jhalak Prize 2023 in the adult as well as the Children and YA (Young Adult) categories were announced on March 15, 2023. The Jhalak Prize for Book of the Year by a Writer of Colour is an annual literary prize awarded to British or British-resident BAME (Black, Asian, and Minority Ethnic) […]

Awards Chad Fiction

Nétonon Noël Ndjékéry wins Grand Prix Littéraire d’Afrique Noire 2022.

Nétonon Noël Ndjékéry’s Il n’y a pas d’arc-en-ciel au Paradis was declared the winner of Grand Prix Littéraire d’Afrique Noire 2022 in Paris, France on Saturday, March 18, 2022. Grand Prix Littéraire d’Afrique Noire is a literary prize presented every year by the Association of French Language Writers (ADELF) for a French original text from […]

Awards Cote D'Ivoire Fiction Guadeloupe Translation

Maryse Conde, GauZ’ on International Booker Prize 2023 longlist.

Maryse Conde and GauZ’ are on the longlist for the International Booker Prize 2023 announced on Tuesday, March 14, 2023. The International Booker Prize is awarded annually for the finest single work of fiction from around the world which has been translated into English and published in the UK and Ireland. Some of the previous […]

Awards Botswana Fiction Nigeria South Africa

Afritondo Short Story Prize 2023 shortlist announced.

The shortlist of five writers in the running for the Afritondo Short Story Prize 2023 was announced on Saturday, March 112023. Afritondo, a platform that aims to connect with and tell the stories of African and black minority populations across the globe, is the organisation behind the Afritondo Short Story Prize. Previous winners have been […]