Awards Fiction France Rwanda

Beata Umubyeyi Mairesse wins Prix Kourouma 2023.

Beata Umubyeyi Mairesse’s novel Consolée was named the winner of Prix Kourouma 2023 at Salon Du Livre Geneva, Switzerland on Friday, March 24, 2023. Ahmadou Kourouma was a legendary Ivorian novelist of many titles including Les Soleils des indépendances (1968), Le diseur de verité (1972), and the most famous Allah n’est pas oblige (2000) which […]

Awards Fiction United States

Percival Everett on Dublin International Literary Award 2023 shortlist

Percival Everett’s novel The Trees is on the shortlist of the Dublin International Literary Award 2023 announced on Monday, March 28, 2023. The Dublin International Literary Award is presented annually for a novel written in English or translated into English to promote excellence in world literature since. The prize worth €100,000 is sponsored by the […]

Awards Nonfiction Poetry United Kingdom United States

Margo Jefferson, Victoria Adukwei Bulley win Rathbones Folio Prize 2023

Margo Jefferson and Victoria Adukwei Bulley won in their categories at the Rathbones Folio Prize 2023 in London, UK on March 27, 2023. The Rathbones Folio Prize is a literary award currently sponsored by Rathbones Investment Management that first ran in 2014–2015. Previous winners have been George Saunders, Akhil Sharma, Hisham Matar, Richard Lloyd Parry, […]

Awards Netherlands Poetry

Alara Adilow wins Herman de Coninck Prize 2023.

Alara Adilow’s poetry collection Mythen en stoplichten was declared the winner of Herman de Coninckprijs 2023 on Tuesday, March 21, 2023. Herman de Coninck was a Belgian poet, essayist, journalist, and publisher who lived from 1944 – 1997. In 2007, the Herman de Coninck Prijs (English: Prize), a Flemish literature prize for poetry for Belgian […]

Awards Nigeria Poetry Somalia United Kingdom

Warsan Shire, Arinze Ifeakandu on Dylan Thomas Prize 2023 shortlist

Warsan Shire and Arinze Ifeakandu are on the shortlist for the Swansea University Dylan Thomas Prize 2023 announced on Thursday, March 23, 2023. Dylan Thomas was a Welsh poet and writer who became widely popular in his lifetime and remained so after his premature death at the age of 39. The International Dylan Thomas Prize […]

Awards Fiction Nonfiction Poetry United States

Lambda Awards 2023 finalists announced.

The finalists for the Lambda Awards 2023 were announced on Monday, March 20, 2023. Here are the writers of African descent who made the cut. The Lambda Literary Awards, or the “Lammys,” as they are known, are an award of Lambda Literary, the oldest and largest literary arts organization advancing Lesbian, Gay, Trans, and Queer […]

Awards Fiction Nonfiction South Africa

South Africa’s Humanities and Social Sciences Awards 2023 winners announced.

The winners of the Humanities and Social Sciences Awards 2022 were announced in a ceremony in Pretoria, South Africa on March 18, 2023. The Humanities and Social Sciences Awards are open to South African publishers, scholars based in South African universities and independent artists linked to universities. The awards honour ‘outstanding, innovative and socially responsive […]

Advocacy Awards Zimbabwe

Tsitsi Dangarembga receives Norway Author’s Freedom of Expression Award 2022

Tsitsi Dangarembga received the Norwegian Authors’ Union Freedom of Expression Award 2023 in Oslo, Norway on March 18, 2023. The Norwegian Authors’ Union (Norwegian: Den norske Forfatterforening) is an association of Norwegian authors established to promote Norwegian literature and protect Norwegian authors’ professional and economic interests in 1893. It also works in solidarity with persecuted […]

Awards Fiction Kenya Nigeria South Africa Sudan Tanzania Zimbabwe

Island Prize 2023 longlist announced

The longlist for the Island Prize 2023 was announced on Monday, March 20, 2023. The Island Prize for a Debut Novel from Africa is a prize from Holland House Books (UK), Karavan Press (SA) as well as Booker Prize longlistee Karen Jennings. It is aimed at giving writers from Africa (or the diaspora) a chance […]

Awards Fiction Nonfiction Poetry

Isele Prizes 2023 shortlists announced.

The shortlists for the Isele Prizes 2023 were announced on Tuesday, March 21, 2023. The Isele Prizes were founded to celebrate the best of short stories, poetry, and essays by writers published in the Ukamaka Olisakwe founded Isele Magazine in 2022. They are split into three categories of – short stories, poetry, and essays, and […]

Awards Barbados Belize Fiction Jamaica Nonfiction Poetry Trinidad and Tobago United Kingdom

OCM Bocas Prize for Caribbean Literature 2023 longlist announced.

The longlist for the OCM Bocas Prize for Caribbean Literature 2023 was announced in Trinidad and Tobago on Wednesday, March 8, 2023. The OCM (One Caribbean Media) Bocas Prize for Caribbean Literature is an annual award for literary books by Caribbean writers, first handed out in 2011. Books are judged in three categories: poetry; fiction […]

Awards Fiction Nonfiction Poetry United Kingdom

British Book Awards 2023 shortlists announced  

The shortlists for the British Book Awards 2023, also known as The Nibbies, were announced in London, UK on Friday, March 17, 2023. The British Book Awards or Nibbies were founded by Fred Newman, the founder, editor, and publisher of Publishing News who ran them from 1990–2009. They were then acquired by Agile Marketing who […]

Awards Childrens literature Fiction United Kingdom United States Young Adult

Jhalak Prize 2023 longlists announced.

The longlists for the Jhalak Prize 2023 in the adult as well as the Children and YA (Young Adult) categories were announced on March 15, 2023. The Jhalak Prize for Book of the Year by a Writer of Colour is an annual literary prize awarded to British or British-resident BAME (Black, Asian, and Minority Ethnic) […]

Awards Chad Fiction

Nétonon Noël Ndjékéry wins Grand Prix Littéraire d’Afrique Noire 2022.

Nétonon Noël Ndjékéry’s Il n’y a pas d’arc-en-ciel au Paradis was declared the winner of Grand Prix Littéraire d’Afrique Noire 2022 in Paris, France on Saturday, March 18, 2022. Grand Prix Littéraire d’Afrique Noire is a literary prize presented every year by the Association of French Language Writers (ADELF) for a French original text from […]

Awards Canada Egypt Poetry Somalia United States

Griffin Poetry Prize 2023 longlist announced

The longlist for the Griffin Poetry Prize 2023 was announced in Toronto, Canada on Wednesday, March 15, 2023. The Griffin Poetry Prize is the world’s largest international prize for a first edition single collection of poetry written in or translated into English. The Canada-based prize was founded by businessman and philanthropist Scott Griffin in 2000. […]