Caine Prize 2020 call out

The Caine Prize for African Writing 2020 has made a call out for entries today September 8, 2019.

The Caine Prize is awarded annually for a short story by an African writer published in English. It is named after the late Sir Michael Caine, former Chairman of Booker plc and Chairman of the Booker Prize management committee for nearly 25 years. Previous winners have been Leila Aboulela (2000), Helon Habila (2001), Binyavanga Wainaina (2002), Yvonne Adhiambo Owuor (2003), Brian Chikwava (2004), Segun Afolabi (2005), Mary Watson (2006), Monica Arac de Nyeko (2007), Henrietta Rose-Innes (2008), EC Osondu (2009), Olufemi Terry (2010), NoViolet Bulawayo (2011), Rotimi Babatunde (2012), Tope Folarin (2013), Okwiri Oduor (2014), Namwali Serpell (2015), Lidudumalingani Mqobothi (2016), Bushra al-Fadil (2017), Makena Onjerika (2018), and Lesley Nneka Arimah (2019).

The prize has made a call out on their Instagram page for entries for its 2020 edition.As is usual with the prize, unpublished work is not eligible for the Caine Prize. Submissions should be made by publishers only. Only fictional work is eligible. Only one story per author is considered in any one year. Submissions should specify which African country the author comes from and the word count. They require 6 copies of the work in its originally published version. If the work is published in a book or journal, the prize would like to receive at least one copy of the book / journal and five photocopies; but particularly where several stories are submitted from one anthology they would like if possible to receive six copies of the book / journal itself. If the work is published online, they would like to receive six photocopies.

The deadline to enter the 2020 Prize is 31st January 2020.