Amy Lukau
Amy Lukau

The Brunel University African Poetry Prize is a poetry prize of £3000 aimed at the development, celebration and promotion of poetry from Africa.

The prize is open to African poets worldwide and each poet has to submit 10 poems to be eligible. It is sponsored by Brunel University London and Commonwealth Writers. Previous winner of the prize now in its fourth year are Warsan Shire (Somalia) 2013, Liyou Libsekal (Ethiopia) 2014 and 2015 joint winners Safia Elhillo (Sudan) and Nick Makoha (Uganda).

Those in the running for this year’s top honours are Gbenga Adesina (Nigeria); Victoria-Anne Bulley (Ghana); Mary-Alice Daniel (Nigeria); Chekwube O. Danladi (Nigeria); Amy Lukau (Angola); Ngwatilo Mawiyoo (Kenya); Momtaza Mehri (Eritrea/Somalia); Saradha Soobrayen (Mauritius); Warsan Shire (Somalia) and Chimwemwe Undi (Zambia/Zimbabwe/Namibia). These were chosen from an eye popping 900 entries proving that there are more poets on the continent that we want to imagine.

These poets were shortlisted by Bernardine Evaristo who is the Chair and founder of the prize alongside, Kwame Dawes, Tsitsi Jaji, John Keene and Helen Yitah. the judges came up with a shortlist of ten poets, none of whom has yet published a full length poetry book.

The winner of the prize will be announced on May 31, 2016. Good luck to all you shortlisters.